Soft Wake

by Sea Dramas

supported by
James Brennan
James Brennan thumbnail
James Brennan Awesome surf-tinged pop rock. Beautiful harmonies. For top-down drives along the ocean durring sunset. Favorite track: Summer Dies.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $5 USD  or more


  • Full Digital Discography

    Get all 3 Sea Dramas releases available on Bandcamp and save 35%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of Beware the Ephemeral, Soft Wake, and Golden Sands. , and , .

      $6.50 USD or more (35% OFF)


  • CD in Jacket
    Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of Soft Wake via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Sold Out




released February 12, 2013

All music performed by Sea Dramas
Additional musicians and friends:
Doug Keen- electric, upright bass and backing vocals, Caitlin Keen- violins on "Final Equinox", Reina Lam- Piano on "One Way", backing vocals on "House of the One", Marlaina Rae- Vocals

All songs by S. Pettersen ©2012 (Ghost Club Music)

Recorded @ Different Fur Studio Sept 2012
Engineer: Patrick Brown
Assist. Engineer: Sean Paulson
Mixed by: Patrick Brown/ S.Pettersen
Mastered by: Mike Wells


(SJMercuryNews) "With the debut album, "Soft Wake," San Francisco's Sea Dramas takes listeners on a haunting musical journey. There's a dreamlike magnetism to such tunes as "Summer Dies," "White Calm," "On The Wane" and "Final Equinox." Evocative vocals, reverb-drenched guitars and elegant layers reflect a '60s sensibility."

(CrackintheRoad) "Given the teasing false starts made by the London weather earlier this week to try and break out of winter’s icy stranglehold – the fleeting excitement, the inevitable disappointment – it feels almost sadly appropriate to be introducing a band who open their debut album with a song called Summer Dies. Sea Dramas come from San Francisco, a city with so many microclimates that the weather can be markedly different from one district to the next, so perhaps the paradoxical sounding of a death knell for the sunshine in the last throes of winter makes a lot of sense to them (and the album was actually recorded in September last year, so it makes complete, logical sense as well).

Luckily, last month’s self-release Soft Wake is a far more consistent and solid affair than their city’s weather. The songs are tight and intricately arranged cuts of folky Americana, with a very Californian pop sheen, and there are some lovely melodic duets from the two vocalists, Scott Peterson and Marlaina Rae, especially on tracks This Is What We Know and Golden Sands. Aside from energetic and surprisingly uplifting opener Summer Dies, standout track White Calm makes the seasonal transition feel nicely seamless, with its Christmas-sy bells and rousing chorus sounding equally suited to windows-down driving in the sunshine and walking through the snow. Sea Dramas are a good band to be listening to when you have absolutely no idea what the weather’s going to be like tomorrow."

(TheBayBridged) "Over the course of the album you’ll hear some surf rock mixed with retro pop, folk, and even a little country, but I think the true strength of Soft Wake resides in the classic melodies and harmonies from vocalists Scott Pettersen and Marlaina Rae that are prevalent no matter the style."

(InternationalPOPOverthrowFestival) "(Sea Dramas) debut CD, Soft Wake, will appeal to fans of The Everly Brothers, modern shoegazer dreampop and The Paisley Underground pantheon of bands! Check it out now!"



all rights reserved


Sea Dramas San Francisco, California

Sea Dramas: Scott Pettersen (vocals, guitar, keyboard, bass, songs), Dwayne Anderson (guitar), David Brandt (drums).Raven Pearson Hal (Vocals, Keyboards), Jeff Yih (Bass)

contact / help

Contact Sea Dramas

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code