Beware the Ephemeral

by Sea Dramas

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $5 USD  or more


  • Full Digital Discography

    Get all 3 Sea Dramas releases available on Bandcamp and save 35%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of Beware the Ephemeral, Soft Wake, and Golden Sands. , and , .

      $6.50 USD or more (35% OFF)


  • CD in sleeve
    Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Compact disc in a handy cardboard sleeve.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Beware the Ephemeral via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Sold Out



On their second LP, Beware the Ephemeral, San Francisco’s Sea Dramas deliver dreamy Left Coast psychedelia that’d be a fine soundtrack for cruising the Pacific Coast Highway. Vocalist/Songwriter Scott Pettersen duets with Erin Skidmore effectively on the album opener, “Untwined.” Skidmore pretty much sings co-lead on many of the cuts, though she tends to be buried a bit behind Pettersen, making them just shy of being actual duets. Their vocals float atop Byrds-y arpeggiated guitars and basslines that sound like they’ve been plucked from the ‘60s, especially on the ethereal “Ending Game.”

“Wait for Sunrise” ups the energy, with faster, surfy drumming, a tempo that would be brought back a few tracks later with “Lion Jaw.” They end the album on another high note with “Bad Desire,” throwing in so many melodies, that it’d feel at home in Brian Wilson’s head. Sea Dramas reach for the stars above the surf, and on Beware the Ephemeral, they manage to grab ahold of it.

Jason Martinez, The Owl Mag

Untwined is the title opening the ball with voices galore whose graceful female accompaniment Erin Skidmore , guitars and keyboards sixties in the vein of Essex Green , fresh and dynamic drum beats Rafael Herrera , cling attention immediately. The instruments alternate intelligently serve the song, give it light airs, on a spring heartbreak theme. Then the guitar strings become languid and elegant on Maker of Heart , offering a dreamy tempo, iodine agreements and sparkling fifties pop, reminiscent to the Beach Boys . California perfume titles, with the chorus sung in choirs, with the theme of the sea, present in the name of the group, but also widely noted in the lyrics. The melodies shine a sunny seaside atmosphere and cheerfully stirred at the image of San Francisco. With a warm baritone vocals of Scott Pettersen, flitting notes harpsichord and keyboard, guitar arpeggios worthy of the Byrds , Sometimes Repeater is a musical gem beautiful surf pop. The sunshine style continues with delicious orchestral pop Ending Game . There is a bunch of musician friends who participate in Beware the Ephemeral including Jason Quever the organ, electric guitar, and percussion, Ted Kamp on drums, Marlaina Rae in the voice, John Mulhausen and Luke Borello on bass, Caitlin Keen violin. Heartbroken is the main inhabitant of Gragodeo Villas oscillating between mellow surf pop in the style of Dick Dale and sixties pop sweet and romantic. All titles carry a UV dose and that it is the bells Gragodeo Villas or castanets River Dream Song , musicality and fertile inspiration Sea Dramas take us on a journey, dreaming of hills Wait for Sunrise , d stars, canyon or on the high seas as Roll Like the Wave . The old-school approach to the sixties orchestration also appears in the song and juvenile nostalgic themes. We recognize the professional and sumptuous paw Jason Quever group Papercuts that in addition to taking part in the instrumentation, produces and records the Scott chants in his studio. Both Allied personalities can as offering a flowery and colorful album of sounds, moods and perfect scores. Lion Jaw is built as an indie-pop melody of excellence, the most modern in the arrangements, decorated with particular words psychedelic, violins, guitars and frenzied keyboards. All Wash has finished listening to swaying ballad talking about the moon, the sun, found feelings, memories with two splendid voice of Scott and Erin, surf guitars and lyrical violins.
Beware the Ephemeral offers a lineup of pastoral harmonies, tied and spicy arrangements and draped excellently written melodies. The Sea Dramas sign there probably one of the best albums of 2015.


The music of San Francisco’s Sea Dramas ranges from hazy folk with pensive melodies to 60s inspired echo laden pop that melds genres and styles with swirling, dreamlike qualities.

Beware the Ephemeral, the band’s second studio album, was recorded to two inch tape at the home studio of Jason Quever (Papercuts) in San Francisco, California. A variety of instruments were implemented such as acoustic twelve string and electric guitars, autoharp, organs, mellotron, violins and violas to create interesting, rich layers of orchestrated pop that provide something new with each listen.

In addition to the core members of Sea Dramas, Scott Pettersen (songwriting, vocals, guitars, bass, keyboards, etc.), Dwayne Anderson (electric guitar), Erin Skidmore (vocals, keyboards), Rafael Herrera (drums), a rotating cast of talented musician friends lent a hand to complete Beware the Ephemeral including Jason Quever (electric guitar, organ, percussion), Ted Kamp (drums), Marlaina Rae (vocals), John Mulhausen (bass, vocals), Luke Borello (bass), and Caitlin Keen (violin, viola).


released March 24, 2015

Sea Dramas is:
Scott Pettersen- vocal, acoustic and electric guitar, keyboard, bass, autoharp, percussion
Erin Skidmore- vocal, keyboard
Dwayne Anderson: electric guitar
Rafeal Herrera: drums, backing vocal

Additional musicians:
Jason Quever: keyboard on 2, electric guitar on 8, percussion on 3,5,6,8,9,10,11
Caitlin Keen: violin & viola on 4,9,10
Ted Kamp: drums on 1,2,3,4,7,8,11
Marlaina Rae: vocals on 1,2
John Mulhausen: bass and backing vocal on 2
Luke Borello: bass on 3-11

All songs written and arranged by S. Pettersen
Recorded July 2014 by Jason Quever
Produced by Jason Quever and S. Pettersen
Mastered by JJ Golden

"Untwined" Recorded by Scott Pettersen. Mixed by Jason Quever

© all rights reserved



all rights reserved


Sea Dramas San Francisco, California

Sea Dramas: Scott Pettersen (vocals, guitar, keyboard, bass, songs), Dwayne Anderson (guitar), David Brandt (drums).Raven Pearson Hal (Vocals, Keyboards), Jeff Yih (Bass)

contact / help

Contact Sea Dramas

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code